Municipal towns

Csapó, Tamás (2008) Municipal towns. MODERN GEOGRÁFIA, 3 (3). pp. 35-58. ISSN 2062-1655


Download (224kB) | Preview


The city, as economic category, is much younger than the county and is not completely originally Hungarian. The city as a form of settlement with local government and some certain privileges appeared in Hungary by taking over the city statutes of the Holy Roman Empire. Our imperators commended several privileges (letters) from the early Middle Ages, but the status of a uniform and general privilege, the free royal town, appeared only in the 15th century. The more significant towns in the 18th century were the cities disposing fortress and/or episcopate, later on in the age of the Anjou and Sigismund (Zsigmond) in the hierarchy those royal or episcopate cities were following the capital which were reinforced by walls or castles. In the 15th century under the reign of the Jagello and the Hunyady family, Hungary had 8 free royal cities: Bártfa, Buda, Eperjes, Kassa, Nagyszombat, Pest, Pozsony and Sopron, out of which only three or, according to present law, two of them were in the area of today’s Hungary (ILLÉS I. 1996).

Item Type: Article
Subjects: G Geography. Anthropology. Recreation / földrajz, antropológia, kikapcsolódás > GF Human ecology. Anthropogeography / gazdasági-társadalmi földrajz
H Social Sciences / társadalomtudományok > HC Economic History and Conditions / gazdaság története és alapelvek
H Social Sciences / társadalomtudományok > HM Sociology / társadalomkutatás
Depositing User: MTMT SWORD
Date Deposited: 01 Feb 2022 12:57
Last Modified: 19 Sep 2022 07:56

Actions (login required)

Edit Item Edit Item